Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics: Lip Tar Review

20130221-232504.jpg
A few months ago there was a huge hype all, over the blogosphere, about these Lip Tars created by Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics.
They are highly pigmented lip colours that are suitable for vegans and come in a huge range of colours. Sounds great!

I decided to get my hands on one and see if they live up to the reviews they were receiving. I decided to buy the shade Hush. This is a lovely, nude pink colour that I thought would look great with a smoky eye.
I first applied a small amount as directed but it looked awful, all that happened was any dryness on my lips was accentuated. So I decided to try and build the colour up, which worked really well. My lips were a lovely nude pink but that didn’t last long. Just eating, licking my lips or even talking started to rub the lip colour away and left my lips looking patchy and dry. Determined to not give up, I tried applying different lip glosses on top and scrubbing any dry skin off my lips before applying the Lip Tar but nothing worked.
This is the desired effect I was looking for when I bought Hush.

20130221-232756.jpg
But this is far from the effect I could create.

I think this product is great if you are a Makeup Artist looking for bold colours to use in a photo shoot but it is completely impractical for everyday use. Completely high maintenance, this product is difficult to apply, has awful staying power and just won’t work if you have dry lips.

Please, if you think I am applying this product incorrectly or that I should give it another chance, get in touch!

It’s currently hidden in my makeup drawers, hence why I took so long to review it. I’d forgotten all about it!

15 comments

  1. Give this product another shot. I promise it’s a life saver.
    Exfoliate your lips, slap on some balm, and apply a VERYYY little bit of the Lip Tar. A little goes a long way.
    Apply with a lip brush and dab with your fingers πŸ™‚

  2. Occ does have a lip primer type thing that works pretty well. Otherwise there are some companies that make a reverse lip liner that’s clear and helps with feathering. I always use a good scrub with a toothbrush or an empty spooley. They will transfer but it’s more of a stain. I think it’s just an either you love it or you hate it product.

  3. get a too faced borderline anti-feathering lip pencil, or if you like a different brand more, use one of those. prime lips by exfoliating with a toothbrush, then slap on some balm, let it sit a minute, then rub it off. make sure your lip tar hasn’t separated in the bottle by rolling the container gently back and forth between your hands to warm it up, then apply a very small amount with a lip brush. spread into a thin layer and let dry thoroughly (this takes up to 60 minutes of no drinking or eating). It will stay on for 4-6 hours through drinking and smoking if you let it dry long enough. bleeding, feathering, and staying wet for too long are all signs you applied too much. I haven’t used that color, so I’m not sure if you might fare better with a brighter one, but all lip tars should be able to be applied opaquely I believe…

    1. oops – meant to say use that clear lip pencil after removing lip balm prior to applying lip tar. πŸ™‚

    2. I had trouble with my lip tars too. I bought Pretty Boy and Grandma, the first bright fuchsia, the second a peachy orange. Maybe I was applying too much as well because I felt like they stayed wet and rubbed off quickly. Maybe the trick is applying less and letting it dry, like Katie said above. But I just couldn’t see any reason to use these over a regular highly pigmented lipstick, like a matte finsh from MAC.

  4. you’re not alone, I didn’t like them either. I tried one and it ended up all over my teeth in minutes… not sure why that happened. but it’s too much of a nuisance using a brush to apply and takes too long.. I will always prefer a regular lipstick!

Comment on this post...

