The Run Down// My Evening Skincare Routine

20140316-215311.jpg

This month I’ve been all about skincare! I came to the revelation that my skin can be improved and I don’t need to live with oily, spotty or scarred skin. So I’ve been following a pretty strict routine and my skin has thanked me for it. I actually really look forward to both  my morning and evening skincare routines, as I love how refreshed and polished I feel for it.

I really think this kind of routine should be followed by everybody, using products suitable for you and within your budget.

And here it is:

I start by cleansing my face with my Emma Hardie Cleansing Balm, if you have read my review on this particular product then you’d know how important I think it is to cleanse with a balm. This step is crucial for makeup removal. I massage this over my eyes, face and down my neck, followed by a clean, hot flannel to wash it off. Now if I’ve been wearing foundation or an SPF I’ll always double cleanse. Currently I’m using a gel cleanser by Una Brennan. This just budges any make up that may be left behind after the first cleanse, after all, make up is designed to stick around.

Now its time to acid tone, this step, combined with other products, has been the most beneficial step I’ve introduced in recent months. The appearance of red scars from previous spots has reduced dramatically. Currently I am using Pixi Glow Tonic, which I am loving, morning and night. After all that cleansing and acid toning, its time to add moisture back into my skin. For this step its all about hydrating toners. Currently I’m loving the Caudalie Beauty Elixir (but you already knew that!).

Now that my face is cleansed and toned, its time for moisture. I start by using an eye cream, the Body Shop Aloe Vera eye cream just helps to sooth my tired, puffy eyes whilst moisturising the under eye too.

I then follow this with a serum, currently I’m using Indeed Labs Pepta Bright, which is helping to fade scars and even my skin tone. This just helps to lock in the moisturise I add next, which is in the shape of a facial oil. Currently I am using the Body Shop Vitamin E Serum In Oil. An oil on oily face helps to balance out the skin whilst deeply moisturising. Don’t be afraid of this step! For a dry skin this can then be followed with a moisturiser for that extra kick.

I know this seems like a lot, but it honestly takes me about 10 minutes and it is completely worth the effort when you see the results. I’m hoping that by summer, I can be foundation free!

What does your evening skincare consist of? And don’t say baby wipes…. please!

11 comments

      1. Me too! I bought mine online though they recently started selling it online through their webaite

      2. It took a while for mine to arrive too! I had to email them to make sure they didn’t make a mistake or something 😦 but at least it available to get it online. rather than having to buy it off ebay or amazon 🙂

  1. I do use baby wipes, but only to remove makeup before using a Clinique gel cleanser (which is ridiculously basic and not worth the price) Botanics Rosewater Toning Spritz, a gentle salicylic acid lotion, benzoyl peroxide spot treatment on the bad ones, Grassroots Research Labs Bamboo Leaf Anti-Redness Intensive Night Cream (whew!) on my most redness prone areas, and a Neutrogena moisturizer for combo skin.

Comment on this post...

