Soap & Glory No Clogs Allowed Mask

20140410-151302.jpg

 

Face masks; you’ve probably gathered that they are not my favourite beauty product. Although I enjoy using them, I rarely find one that makes any real difference. On my quest to find the perfect face mask, I picked this up from Soap & Glory, the No Clogs Allowed Super Self Heating Mask. Designed to apparently deeply detox the pores, this is designed for oily, congested skin.

Taking a grape sized amount, you spread this mask onto your face twice a week, then you must wet your hands and the mask turns blue. Now all you do is wait 5 minutes (are you noticing a pattern here? All my masks only take 5 minutes!)

When I rubbed this mask into my skin, I was expecting a warming sensation, just like my favourite clay masks. Although it did warm up when initially applied, it then turned extremely cold during the five minutes. It was so cold, it felt like I had toothpaste on my face and made my eyes water! This was my first dissapointment.

After I rinsed it off I noticed that my face still felt really cold and also very tight. This is something I really don’t like in any skincare as this means all the natural oils have been stripped from my skin. Other than those changes, I really couldn’t see any other difference. My breakouts are just as bad today and my skin looks even more congested!

This mask would be completely out of bounds for anyone with sensitive, dry skin and is probably more suitable for extremely oily skin. I won’t be repurchasing this, just because it was far to harsh for my skin.

However this being said, I usually love Soap & Glory and would probably be more suited to the other, more gentle masks from their skincare range.

Have you tried any Soap & Glory masks? What do you think?

8 comments

  1. I completely get you when you said you usually don’t see any real difference using a face mask! I have used sooo many duds that never work, but the one mask that actually surprised me was the volcanic clay mask from The Face Shop. It’s so much fun to browse those shops!

Comment on this post...

