Feeling Sleepy

20140429-124658.jpgI don’t know about you guys, but I spend more of my bed time awake singing Beyonc lyrics in my head and wondering why I can’t sleep. I’ve never been someone that’s blessed in the sleep department. You won’t find me asleep on a train or in a car and it usually take me at least an hour to finally doze off. So its no surprise that sometimes this girl needs to call on the big guns to catch some zzz’s! And these little guys have really been a saviour recently.

Diptyque Mimosa Candle// The sleep inducing hormone Melatonin is released into the body in dim light. Turning off the lights, hiding mobile phones and lighting a candle really helps me to feel sleepy. Mimosa is such a subtle sweet smell that isn’t too overpowering or fresh. Having this flicker away whilst I read really calms my senses and helps me to relax. Just be sure to blow it out before you hit the pillow!

Clipper Snore & Peace Tea// I love a hot drink before bed but try to avoid caffeine after 5pm and find hot chocolate can keep me awake with all its sugar content. Not normally a herbal tea lover, I was surprised by how much I enjoy this one. With camomile, lavender and lemon balm, this tea is actually very nice and is  a perfect alternative to my usual bedtime hot drinks.

Molton Brown Sleep Mist// I actually got this in a gift set years ago and although the other products that came with it have long expired, this sleep mist is still going strong. With relaxing yuan zhi, this sleep mist really does knock me out. This scent is gorgeous and can be sprayed either on your body or pillow, the later being my favourite. I seriously love this stuff and would absolutely but it again.

Kiehls Midnight Recovery Concentrate// Now it can’t be a post about sleep without this little beauty. With evening primrose rose and a blend of essential oils, this oil smells gorgeous and promises to replenish the skin by morning. Blending a few drops of this oil into the skin leaves my face feeling moisturised but not too heavy. The perfect good nights sleep companion!

So what do you do for a good nights sleep?

9 comments

  1. Your review of the Molton Brown spray made such a good case for the product that I actually went out & ordered it. I’m not a big sleeper (have always had issues with sleeping, and usually stay up way too late reading), so this is promising. Thank you for the great review & recommendation!

Comment on this post...

